Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night my 3-year old daughter came into my room. It was midnight and she wanted something to drink. My husband ran downstairs to get her some water. She had a few sips.

Then began coughing.

A horrible barking cough.

Then a gasp for breath.

Cough. Gasp. Cough. Gasp.

I asked her to calm down and stop gasping. Her panic grew as she said, “I can’t!” Cough. Gasp. Cough. Gasp.

Then my own panic set in. She could not breath. How many minutes would I have, if whatever was causing this constriction, suddenly inhibited her from breathing at all?

I remembered something my dad taught me.

Steam.

Tossing aside all cares for the cost of precious German water, I turned the shower on full heat, full blast. My husband and daughter sat in the bathroom while I called a friend.

And talked to my dad.

My friend’s calm and loving voice eased my own panic. My heartbeat returned to a normal speed, but my hands and legs reminded me of the adrenaline coursing through. She assured me, graciously, that the steam was a good idea and life should be okay.

I traded “jobs” with my husband.

Holding my precious, exhausted child in my arms… I talked to my dad. He also assured me that we were doing what we needed to do. And that Hannah would be okay.

Her breathing returned to normal.

My dad smiled at me. That reassuring smile.

Confession: Anything I know about health or healing I learned from my dad.

He’s a doctor.

But not just any doctor… he is THE doctor. I don’t know a single person who understand the dynamics and wiring of the human body like he does. I’ve never met another physician who understands how every single plant, food item, or … anything, can be used to cure an ailment, physical or otherwise. I’ve seen him heal incurable diseases. He’s brought vision to people who’ve never had it.

He’s even brought people back from death.

And to see the love and joy in his eyes when he does it. How could I not learn to love helping others in their illnesses? I want that joy! I joke that he has the “magical” touch… just looking at someone seems to heal them.

Everything good and true that any doctor knows… they learned from him (he’s a teacher, too).

I have a lot left to learn… but I’ve gleaned a thing or two over the years… remedies that have healed and cured without additional doctor attention:

Cinnamon– drinking, eating (or even just smelling) cinnamon during a bout of nausea will clear it right up… calming the tummy. (Sometimes I just put some in a cup of hot water and sniff up the scent when I feel really sick).

Anis- Ground up anis in some hot tea or carbonated drink will stop diarrhea immediately. A little less immediate, but still effective, for stopping the runs, is toast with cheese.

Vitamin B12– Taken as a supplement (or in whole foods), vitamin B12 (supposedly… I don’t know all the reasons why it works, just that it seems to) creates an odor in your blood that mosquitoes find unappetizing… a sort of natural mosquito repellant.

Dandelion Plant- Certain plants, including the dandelion plant, cure warts. Take the sap from the stem and rub it on the wart multiple times a day until the wart is gone. (I’ve done this, it works)

Raw Local Honey- Prevents and cures allergies from local allergens. MUST BE local honey (so that the bees are dealing with the same pollens as the allergens affecting you).

Jewelweed- An anecdote to the sting of stinging nettle

Stinging Nettle- Too many remedies to list! You can read some here or google it.

Seaweed- Again, another one with many remedies… but the one I used it for was skin lesions Just place damp seaweed (even sushi seaweed works) on a cut or tear (for moms of newborns) and watch it heal overnight. It’s incredible, actually.

This is just a sampling of what my dad has taught me over the years. There is so much more yet to learn… but that’s whats great about my dad being my dad… whenever I need to know something, I just have to ask. He gets a beautiful pleasure, I’ve noticed, when he’s talking about ways to help heal or cure an ailment, disease, or disorder.

And like any doctor, I suppose… he knows when the best kind of healing comes through death. This makes him weep as much as any other… but I’ve seen him allow death to come when it is the best way.

The best thing about my dad as a physician is this… most doctors can only walk with you to death’s doorway.

He walks you through it.

I am the Lord, who heals you.

Exodus 15:25b

To learn more about 31 Days in 2012 or view other 31 Dayers blogs, click here.

I’m spending 31 days writing about my confessions and the lessons {Dad} has taught me. This is day 3 of 31 Days in 2012.